Skip to content

My artwork on Korean Television…….for 10 seconds.

November 11, 2009

Thought I would share this little clip of my friend Jennifer Phang on Korean TV.  She was director and writer of “Half-Life”.  To learn more about the film, check out it’s Wikipedia Page, here’s an excerpt – “The film premiered in the 2008 Sundance Film Festival and has since been touring the American and international film festivals circuits. It premiered internationally in the Tokyo International Film Festival in competition, and then in Europe at the Mannheim-Heidelberg International Film Festival, also in competition. “Half-Life” was the opening night film for the International Women’s Film Festival in Seoul, Korea. The film will make a theatrical debut in December 1 2009 in selected cities.”

While in Seoul, Jen took part in a television interview, here’s the beginning clip of the interview.  My artwork can be seen between minute 1:06 – 1:16.  A whopping 10 seconds on Korean TV:

My father would be proud……ha.  Also in addition to being able to see the film in select theatres in December, you can also get the film through NetFlix.

I got to see the film when it showed at The Pacific Film Archive in Berkeley, as part of the 27th San Francisco International Asian American Film Festival.  I had seen parts of the film before it was finished when I was working on the artwork, but it was so cool to be in a movie theatre and see my art projected up on the big screen.  In total, including the opening credits, my art is up there for about 2 minutes.  It was a cool experience to be a part of.  You can view some the artwork used in the film here.  I still need to upload the second round of paintings onto the site, but you can see the first round.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 2:00 pm

    Hey Jon,

    This is awesome! Your art work in a film, such a good idea! You know I also was in a magazine in Taiwan? LOL, we’re so big else where!

    • joncooney permalink*
      January 14, 2010 2:08 pm

      I didn’t know that, that rocks! you’re international.

Leave a Reply

