Skip to content

Taking A Break From The Daily Biscuits

June 5, 2010

I just started a little vacation last night for the next nine days and decided it was time for me to take a break from making my Daily Biscuits.  It has been a great experience making a painting for 140 days in a row.  I’m really glad so many people seemed to enjoy them and some decided to bring the love of the biscuit into their homes by purchasing some of them.  Thanks so much everyone for giving me feedback and taking the time to enjoy my artwork.  This process began for a number of different reasons, and I feel like it is time to let it turn into something else once I return back home from my vacation.  One of the things I’d like to do is work on some larger pieces where I can incorporate some of the styles that I’ve developed while making the biscuits.  And probably the most important is to start to devote more time to getting my artwork into the world more than I have been.  Before I started the biscuits I created at least 100 paintings during 33 different Meditation/Intention Painting Sessions.  I’ve sold some of these, but between my favorite 30 from those sessions and my Daily Biscuits, I have a lot of paintings that I want to get into different galleries, boutique stores and into people’s homes.

It was quite a challenge to make a painting everyday regardless of the circumstances.  Many nights I’d be up extremely late making that day’s painting, then nodding off in front of my computer posting it to various sites.  It was good to push myself through this and put myself into a situation where I had to create something even when I didn’t feel creative.  To see that if I just get myself to show up for the work, it will get done. So I’m not sure what my next project will be, but I feel it’s time to begin a new chapter with my creative endeavors.  I think there is a really good chance that the daily biscuit will “rise” again.  I really enjoyed sharing my process with other people, so I may share my daily progress in these endeavors as I begin these new projects.

When I finished the first 100 biscuits, I made two short movies that are one minute each that show 50 biscuits apiece.   Click here for the movie with biscuits 1-50.  And click here for the movie with biscuits 51-100.  Also, if you’re interested in being able to view all the biscuits in one place, so far the best way to do that is to go to my Flickr page and click on the two different sets that are on the right hand side of the page.  There are two sets divided up as 1-100 & 101-140.  Please let me know if you have any questions, and again thanks so much for taking the time to enjoy my artwork.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

