Skip to content

Successful Commission Project : “Gathering The Tribe” paintings

November 13, 2010

My uncle Bill recently commissioned me to make him a painting for his home.  He really liked  “The Tribe At Night” , which was one of my first Daily Biscuit paintings.  That piece was 6″x4″ and for this commission we decided that I would make the size 36″x24″ (on stretched canvas, 1.5″ deep).  I chose to make two paintings so that he would have a choice of variety instead of putting all the pressure on one painting.  And I also gave myself the challenge of taking his love for “The Tribe At Night” painting to heart and creating paintings that would have the same loose feel, similar colors and composition.  It was an interesting process considering the size difference between the original inspiration and the two large canvasses before me, because I was attempting to use a similar painting process that I had used in the original.  For instance I created the gold background in the original by painting on a separate sheet of paper and then “printing” it onto the paper.  It was totally different doing that on a much larger scale.  Though challenging at times I think I really hit the mark in creating two paintings that were inspired by “The Tribe At Night”, but completely their own paintings.  They actually look very different when you spend a minute comparing them to the original inspiration.  I’m really happy with how these turned out and it was great that both my Uncle Bill and my Aunt Vicky really thought so too.  They decided on “Gathering The Tribe : (Scene #1)”.  I’m looking forward to seeing how it looks in their home.  A successful commission project indeed.  “Gathering The Tribe : (Scene #2)” is available for purchase.  The cost is $650 (plus $50 shipping & handling in U.S.).  You can purchase this painting in my “Available Paintings” section.  Feel free to contact me regarding any questions or inquiries into future commission projects.  Click on the images to enlarge.

“Gathering The Tribe : (scene #1)”  – (sold)

“Gathering The Tribe : (scene #2)” –  (available)

(note on photos : I had a hard time capture the true colors of these paintings.  They are richer in color than these photos and a little brighter.  Also, the sheen of the gold color doesn’t really come through in the photos as well.  I hope to get better at documenting my art and to soon get some good photo equipment.)
One Comment leave one →
  1. Chase permalink
    February 1, 2011 7:34 pm

    I like this painting.. the more i look at it the more it almost seems to be like a Native American area.

Leave a Reply

