Skip to content

Quick Revamp of Northville Winery’s “Michigan Red” wine label

October 14, 2011

The other day I got a call from my friend Robb saying he wanted me to revamp their old label for their “Michigan Red” wine, and he needed it done in a day.  The original was a label created for the winery before I began working with them on designs.  Usually I create new paintings and do a bunch of different design mockups and we go through a three-step process that takes some time.  For this one, they wanted to keep the same large one-piece label that they used for the original.  So since it was needing to be done in a day, I used the same background as I used in the recent Blue Note label, tweaked the coloring and altered it a bit.  Then I used one of the illustrations that I created for them a few years ago which never got used.  And so after about a day and third, I finished the revamped label.  Sometimes it’s good to have parameters set that effect your normal creative process.  I like how it turned out, and if I had more time I’d keep working on it to look even better.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 12:15 pm

    Love it Cooney! It’s so warm, playful yet mature. Is there a link to the actual product?

    • October 14, 2011 12:20 pm

      unfortunately their website is the most poopiest of anything in the website nature. so there’s no way to get their product at this point unless you go to
      their actual store in Northville. I’m trying to line up my friend selling his product at this gallery / wine shop I have my work at right now. hopefully he’ll branch
      out into other states, but they aren’t at that level yet. I’m sure my friend would ship out wine to anyone interested. I’m glad you dig it.

Leave a Reply

