Skip to content

“Opening Up To Watch Them Grow” a series of three paintings / & my new art opening this Friday night

August 11, 2011

A month ago I went to Kirkland’s art walk which is on the second Friday of each month.  One of the last places I went into was a place called Gallery Wine Art.  It’s a really cool place.  A rustic building with cool timbers and brick walls.  They have a lot of great art on the walls and have wine displayed throughout the space along side artwork.  In the back area is their tasting room with a long wooden table.  The gallery has a really nice, comfortable feeling to it.  I talked with Laura who is the gallery’s art consultant about getting my work in their space.  After looking at my website with me, she said she’d like to have my work in the August show.  I was happy to hear, but then suddenly realized that all of my available artwork was currently in my show on Vashon Island.  Knowing I was leaving town the next week, I prepared myself for some serious art making.  I ended up painting for about 60 hours in a 3 1/2 day period with very very very little sleep.  There were no options.  I was going to make some really cool paintings and I had to finish them in a small alloted time.  I managed to pull it off.  I spent another 8 hours doing the staining and applying the polyurethane, and then promptly passed out and caught up on sleep.  The paintings are on 24″ x 30″ cradled wooden panels that are 1.5″ deep.  Hope you enjoy the pieces.  Showing at the gallery along side these three paintings are 24 of my Daily Biscuits as well.  The opening for the show is tomorrow, August 12th, and the show will be up for a month.  If you are in the Kirkland, WA area, please come on by.   You can go to GalleryWineArt.com and get directions.  Click on each image to enlarge.

Opening Up To Watch Them Grow #1

Opening Up To Watch Them Grow #2

Opening Up To Watch Them Grow #3

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


No comments yet

Leave a comment