Skip to content

Le Chicken Tap – Keg Tap Handle for Northville Winery’s Hard Cider

August 17, 2011

A couple years ago I made my first label for The Northville Winery’s Hard Cider. The illustration I made for the label was a “rock and roll chicken”. Robb had the idea to make the chicken as the tap handle for the venues that carried his hard cider. It’s been a slow process and it isn’t yet 100% complete, but I thought I would share where we’re at in the process with the photos below. The prototype is finished and now there will be a mold made of which we can create duplicates from. The handles you see below were made through a 3D printing process. Robb’s cousin owns a company which uses a 3D printer and they took my original illustration and modified it so it could be used as a handle without breaking. The last step after getting the mold made will be painting each handle. I’ll post again when we get to that point. Below is the three prototypes and the original illustration, and below that is a slideshow of the the process so far.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a comment