Skip to content

Blue Note – new wine label for The Northville Winery

September 26, 2011

I recently finished making a new label for The Northville Winery in Michigan for their Blue Note wine.  The wine is a white wine with blueberries added for flavor.  The name came from the term commonly used in jazz, which is “a note sung or played at a slightly lower pitch than that of the major scale for expressive purposes. Typically the alteration is a semitone or less, but this varies among performers and genres”.  So the addition of the blueberry is the blue note in the wine.  With this in mind, I created two paintings with several forms in each, where a blue form stood out from the rest.  After creating several different mockups for both the front and back labels, the two below are the final ones chosen for the new label.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 11:46 pm

    Love the blue thingy on the back label. Cooneyesque!!

    • September 27, 2011 8:25 am

      Thanks! I like the word Cooneyesque, I think I should use that in my artist bio.

Leave a comment